I want to be Charlie

Mohamed loses patience with fundamentalists. It's hard being followed by jerks.

Charlie Hebdo frontpage

I happened to be in London when the atrocities in Paris occurred and was so privileged to be in attendance at the first Trafalgar Square vigil to honour the memories of those who lost their lives. I tweeted, like many others, the #jesuischarlie hashtag, posted a Chalie Hebdo front page to my social media timeline, watched the news, listened to the debates, read the relevant newspaper articles and then realised. It’s not enough. Not nearly enough.

I say “I am Charlie” but I’m not. I have never faced the risks they knowingly faced. I’ve never deliberately offended in a public space. I’ve never even published a word. So I find myself here, having a stab at putting pen to paper as well as figuratively holding it aloft. I’ll never be Charlie Hebdo, never represent  what they do, even if I so wished. But I shall try, beginning here, in a small way, to stand alongside those paid with their lives for the drawing and publishing of cartoons.

Perhaps it was a fortunate accident that the first amendment to the constitution of the United States was so enumerated, however to me it is one of the shining brilliancies of that document. All other rights come from and after the rights contained within, for your refreshment, here’s the text:

“Congress shall make no law respecting an establishment of religion, or prohibiting the free exercise thereof; or abridging the freedom of speech, or of the press; or the right of the people peaceably to assemble, and to petition the Government for a redress of grievances.”

We, in these United Kingdoms, may not (yet?) have such a law, but we hold dear the principles contained within. The core of that statement is the basis of any free society. If we lose this then we are ruined.

I stand against the religious fascists who would impose by means of the gun elements of Islamic blasphemy law in free Europe as well as the liberal consensus who do their bidding by labelling satire and criticism of that ideology as ‘Islamophobic’. The criticism of ideas, those who hold power or claim authority must be the only elements of our liberty to speak freely considered ‘sacrosanct’.

As a starter in this minor campaign against terrorism and appeasement I suggest the following:

1. That the UK government affirms in written law our rights to freedom of expression, state religious neutrality and of peaceful assembly

2. That the UK government makes adequate protection for any members of the press who endangers themselves to a credible threat of violence through their reporting or editorial stance.

3. That we audit our laws to ensure they meet the test of #1 and the self-evident right of sexual equality. To my view, as a starter this would include:

i. The removal of the exemption for religious organisations to practice sexual discrimination in employment practices

ii. Reform of Section 5 of the Public Order Act to remove the prohibition on ‘insulting’ religion

iii. Phased removal of public funding of faith schools

If we want to be Charlie, we must make moves to be consistent with these secular freedoms and rights. I’m not Charlie, our society is not Charlie – perhaps we never will be, perhaps we don’t really want to be. But if we are to get close to the people and society we must become we should look at ourselves; renewing our commitments to freedom of expression and bringing about the religious neutrality of the state. Perhaps we won’t ever represent Charlie but we can come to embody Thomas.

For too long liberal victories of non-offence-making kind have held sway. Well, to mis-quote Plutarch…many more victories like this and we shall be ruined.

3 thoughts on “I want to be Charlie

  1. Dave

    What a poor first post. I think you’ll be disappointed in yourself once the hullabaloo over Je Suis Charlie has died down.

    Have a think about what you’re really saying here. You’re saying it’s fine to deliberately provoke and upset people just because of something they choose to believe? That you think we should defend those who go out of their way to offend? And you’re surprised when they kick back?

    Let me put it in context. Imagine you walk up to 100 men you don’t know, and in their faces shout, “your mother is a c***sucking whore”. 99 will walk away from you and think you’re just rude, but the 100th will punch you in the face. And then will you shout about freedom of speech? There are 1.6bn Muslims in the world. A tiny number will snap when pushed too far…I think this would be the same with any faith (and the law wouldn’t matter).

    Whilst they by no means deserved a violent end, the cartoonists of Charlie Hebdo deliberately went out of their way to poke a stick into a hornet’s nest. They can’t be that surprised that they eventually got stung.

    I don’t agree with printing the cartoons of Mohammed, because I’m not sure what the point is. Satire should attack the powerful, rich, authorities, and those with control. Why would you bother? What do you hope to achieve? It stands as just racist…Muslims are, right now, largely marginalised, oppressed, victimised and suffer lots of prejudice. Satirists should be attacking the oppressors.

    I’m not suggesting we “ban” people from drawing pictures of Mohammed – but I would hope that a humanity that respected each other’s rights to believe in what they wanted, and not be mocked for it, would be something we all aspired to. Why, as a non-Muslim, would you ever want to draw a picture of Mohammed? To what end would it serve? None, only to provoke a reaction. It’s schoolyard bully stuff. It’s absolutely right that to intimidate someone because of what they believed in remains a crime.

    It is not satire to simply insult people. There has to be some motivation behind it; not just for the shock factor. It’s not enough. The phrase “Political Correctness” is bandied around a lot as a bad thing; actually it just means treating other people with respect.

    You’d do well to consider that as you continue your blogging career. Good luck in the future.

    Like

    Reply
  2. Rob Bane Post author

    Thanks for the feedback ‘Dave’ (I did wonder if you’d show up here).

    I’m pleased to see you that at least decided not to mince your words, initially anyway, and came right out and said that they provoked their powerless killers. I should end my critique of your comment there, but lets play about with it for a while…

    I’ll be disappointed when the “hullabaloo” over the massacre of defenceless cartoonists has blown over if the armed fascists have another victory under their belts and I haven’t done enough on the side of the slain. It would seem, at least for the time being, that instead a lot of news organisations are lifting their “bans” on showing images of Mohammed when a news story justifies it. Victoire for now. But sure enough, as soon as the dead are buried, the forces of the liberal elite come crawling out to defend the oppressors rights not to be offended.

    Let’s take a (slightly) more appropriate analogy but in the same bizarre vein, if we must. Lets still pretend you don’t know the difference between insulting an individual and insulting an ideology. Now, I can’t claim to have the same degree of love for anything as some claim for their religious figureheads, but I think the closest I can come are the feelings I have for my children. If someone printed an insulting cartoon or article about my sons I would do all in my powers to legally right that wrong. But, if a group decided to avenge their honour by killing (sorry, I can’t bring myself to equivocate a punch with mass murder) the writers who’d insulted my non-supreme-beings of children I’d be the first person on the phone begging their replacements to print it again. If they were too scared to slander my non-gun-toting children, I’d print it myself. I’d condemn anyone who mentioned the ‘provocation’ as an intellectually weak coward and be ashamed to have any association with them or any movement they represented. Where would you stand?

    Let’s remember who was weak in this power-relationship. Their offices had been firebombed, they’d received numerous credible death threats (for drawing cartoons), numerous other publishers of similar material had been killed for similar ‘offences’. They were unarmed and undeterred. They had a choice to get on their knees and repent or die standing. We know how the story ended.

    My research shows that they constantly mocked all politicians, racists, fundamentalists and theocrats of all persuasion (Jainism seems to have gotten an easy ride, probably as it’s impossible to distort its doctrines into an excuse for mass oppression) not, at all, weak individuals. Can you suggest a better way of representing Islam in a cartoon other than using the figurehead? Or would you prefer oppression by Islamic theocrats and fundamentalist have been given a free pass? Rather, the fact that many of the oppressed have less ability to speak out, to satirise and suggest reform, so it becomes encumbent on those who have so, to do so.

    How do you feel about satire of Kim Jong Un (a real, living person), whose genuinely dispossessed followers regard with god-like reverence?

    Standing on the side of free speech is not joining the ‘political correctness gone mad’ brigade, it’s realigning liberalism where it truly belongs, defending freedom and standing against fascist oppression.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a comment